The Shadow Watch by S.A. Klopfenstein tour banner

The Shadow Watch by S.A. Klopfenstein – Tour Encore

This past week we gave the spotlight to The Shadow Watch, the first book in S.A. Klopfenstein’s YA Fantasy series, Shadow Watch. Our Roadies brought a wide selection of content to this show with their reviews, interviews and more. Now it’s time to bring the show to an end and it’s my pleasure to present you with the encore, including some extra content. Come and learn a bit more about the world of The Shadow Watch through our Q&A with S.A.!

Shall we?

Meet the Author
S.A. Klopfenstein

S.A. Klopfenstein grew up on a steady dose of Tolkien and Star Wars. As a child, he wrote his first story about a sleepwalking killer who was executed by lethal injection. He lives in the American West with his wife and their dog, Iorek Byrnison. He can be found exploring the peaks of the Rocky Mountains, or daring the halls of the high school where he teaches English and mythology.

Book Blurb
The Shadow Watch by S. A. Klopfenstein

A fierce sorceress on the run. A charismatic rebel with dangerous ambitions. Will their revolution save the realm or bring it to ruin?

Ripped from her homeland and sold for a handful of coins, seventeen year old Tori Burodai grew up a slave in a foreign empire. All her life, surrounded by injustice and cruelty, she has ached for the chance to fight back.

When her only friend’s life is threatened, a buried power awakens, catapulting Tori into a harrowing new reality. For the first time in centuries, magic has returned to the world, and Tori may finally have the opportunity to change her fate.

Desperate for answers, Tori joins forces with a charismatic rebel bent on righting the scales. Soon, she is thrust into the heart of a magic revolution. But magic is not the only power that has returned from the depths of the world. And some secrets should never be uncovered.

War is coming. But does Tori have what it takes to defy an empire?

Filled with complex characters, slow-burn romance, wild plot twists, and epic battles, the Shadow Watch series is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass and the Grishaverse. Welcome to the breathtaking world of the Shadow Watch, where sorcerers are hunted, monsters rise out of myth, and the fate of all hangs on love and betrayal. Start the Four Book series now!

The Tour

Click on the blog name to read their full review or other content!

The Shadow Watch by S. A. Klopfenstein hosts banner

MAY 16TH – THE KICKOFF

Whispers & Wonder – interview + IG spotlight

MAY 17TH

Geeky Galaxy – excerpt

@all.you.read.is.love – review + IG spotlight

“I loved the characters, though not because they were perfect little peaches, but rather because they were HUMAN, flawed, with lots of shades of gray – which are the BEST kinds. I was invested and wanted to see where they went and feel what they were feeling.”

MAY 18TH

Beneath A Thousand Skies – review

“The prologue and opening chapters do an excellent job of drawing you into the world and the plot, and the imagery of the Gallows at the beginning was gripping. I alternated between the audiobook and the eBook for this one, and I found that the narration while good, slowed the pacing more than it was in the book itself – particularly when it came to the fight scenes, and I found myself preferring the eBook for those parts particularly in the middle part of the book, but towards the ending, as everything came together and the world began to expand I found that both versions clicked with me a lot more and I consumed the last thirty percent or so in one go.”

MAY 19TH

A Bookworm’s Paradise – review

“So what I liked was how we were taken straight to the point; the events of actual story started almost immediately after beginning the book. There was no beating around the bush, and this allowed for so much to happen within those 400 pages of the book.”

MAY 20TH

Westveil Publishing – review

“The Shadow Watch, book one in the series by the same title, is truly an epic fantasy! It’s long (the audiobook is 12.5!) but you won’t regret a single minute of it. In 400 pages or 12.5 hours, there isn’t a single dull moment or accidentally confusing passage. Klopfenstein’s world-building is immaculate and fascinating, and Tori is the fierce heroine we all needed.”

The Caffeinated Rareder – review + IG spotlight

“Overall, The Shadow Watch is an interesting first installment and the ending can make you feel curious enough to continue with the series. The magical elements was also good, and the characters as well. My only concern is that the villain doesn’t really appeal to me as much. I think the main character’s personal interests and relationships can serve as greater conflicts to the story as compared to the villain. His plans were good, but the character itself feels flat for me.”

MAY 21ST

@theenchantedshelf – IG spotlight

The Shadow Watch by S. A. Klopfenstein IG wrap up
Q&A in the Asylum
Welcome to the Asylum, S.A.! Take a seat by the fire, have a glass of beverage of your choice and tell me something about yourself!
What inspires your writing? Do you listen to music, stare into the fire, listen to the whispering of the wind, make deals with the Devil?

Whatever it takes to get the story! Haha! But seriously, I listen to a lot of soundtrack and game track music to get immersed in the world of my stories. Skyrim and Assassin’s Creed scores get played a lot. 

Describe an asylum set in the world of your book, The Shadow Watch!

Hmm. Well, I’ll play off the word and apply it in the sense of a sanctuary. In the book, magic users are hunted and killed, but there is a fortress high in the mountains called the Watchtower, where Tori the MC is able to find refuge from hunters and begin to train with her newly-discovered gifts.

Your MC is locked in an asylum. What did he/she do to end up there?

She resisted the powers that be, so they locked her up to silence her.

Which fictional character (it can be one of yours) and/or author would you like to live with in an asylum and why?

Hmm… I think I’d like to be locked up with a spren like Syl from Stormlight. She’d help keep me sane, but mostly because I just really want to have a spren.

While you are locked in here for eternity, we will allow you one book – what would you choose?

Oh, I would definitely have to go with Lord of the Rings.

Well then, we hope you’ll enjoy your stay in the Asylum! Any last words? *locks door*
Giveaway
The Shadow Watch by S. A. Klopfenstein giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you are interested in The Shadow Watch and would like to get in contact with S. A. Klopfenstein, you can find him on social media:

Find out more about Storytellers On Tour or join our team:

Grab a copy of The Shadow Watch on Amazon!

The Shadow Watch by S. A. Klopfenstein

Timy, also known as Queen Terrible Timy hails from a magical land called Hungary, born and raised in its capital city, Budapest. Books have been her refuge and best friends ever since she can remember along with music. She might be a tiny bit addicted to the latter. Timy is the owner and editor of Queen's Book Asylum. Timy is also the co-owner/manager of Storytellers On Tour, a book tour organizing service dedicated to indie SFF authors. In her free time (hah!) she likes to scribble things, collect panda stuff, go to concerts and travel.

One Comment

Leave a Reply