Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse tour banner

Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse – Tour Encore

This past week we gave the spotlight to Red in Tooth and Claw, Ryan Howse’s Horror Fantasy novel. Our Roadies brought a wide selection of content to this show with their spotlights. Now it’s time to bring the show to an end and it’s my pleasure to present you with the encore, including some extra content. Come and learn a bit more about the world of Red in Tooth and Claw through our Q&A with Ryan!

Shall we?

Meet the Author
Ryan Howse

Ryan Howse is the author of The Steel Discord, The Alchemy Dirge, and Red in Tooth and Claw. He lives in Saskatchewan, Canada, with his wife, children, and cats.

Book Blurb
Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse

A brutal wilderness.

Hungry, plague-ridden animals.

A winter so cold it snaps wood.

Chemosh, a scout imprisoned by the enemy, agrees to lead the way through this wilderness for his freedom. But both his knowledge and his resilience are put to the test, not just by the wilderness, but by the chaotic, violent man he guides. A man he must rely on if they are to survive.

The Tour

Click on the blog name to read their full review or other content!

Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse tour hosts banner

APRIL 25TH – THE KICKOFF

Whispers & Wonder  interview + IG spotlight

APRIL 26TH

Beneath A Thousand Skies – review

“I cannot recommend this book highly enough. This is a book that is begging to be experienced by as many people as possible, that demands to be felt and deserves to be on as many shelves as possible.”

APRIL 27TH

Fantasy Book Critic – interview

APRIL 28TH

@theenchantedshelf – review + IG spotlight

“This was a wild ride! Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead, Howse crafts a thrilling horror fantasy novel with finesse and ever present twists and turns!”

APRIL 29TH

FanFiAddict – review

“Howse writes with a bone-chilling fervor I have only encountered a few times. I look forward to more of Howse’s books, and I have a good feeling that he’ll be flying off the shelves in no time. He has the makings of a great writer, and I’m excited to see where his future takes him.”

APRIL 30TH

Cover to Cover – review + IG spotlight

Red in Tooth and Claw is entirely gung-ho from the opening to the closing sentence. Fans of fantasy/horror will surely enjoy this title, especially as it’s a rare gem of a quick enough read among the commitment demanding tomes. Sometimes, you just want to dive into a story and come up out of it for fresh air and change soon after. This title will allow readers to do that!”

Q&A in the Asylum
Welcome to the Asylum, Ryan! Take a seat by the fire, have a glass of beverage of your choice and tell me something about yourself!

Well, my favorite “I can’t believe that’s true” story about me is that I have had a South American artist, in his hometown, do a full exhibition about My Weird Head.

I have never been to South America.

What inspires your writing? Do you listen to music, stare into the fire, listen to the whispering of the wind, make deals with the Devil?

It’s all just yelling at the void. Honestly, inspiration comes from everything—art, music, life. There’s no one specific thing I can point to.

Describe an asylum set in the world of your book, Red in Tooth and Claw!

Red in Tooth and Claw takes place in the late Neolithic, with the first cities forming. Any asylum would also be a dungeon, and the dungeon is described in thorough detail at the beginning of the novel, because Chemosh is trapped there.

So in other words my description would be:

“He knows his cell like a beaten child knows their parent. He is attuned to its subtle moods. The low depression that was the natural state, the deeper gloom emphasized by condensation forming on the walls. Brickwork hooked together like spindly fingers. The lichens grown upon the corner of the wall, spreading outward.”
That’s probably how I’d describe it.

Your MC is locked in an asylum. What did he/she do to end up there?

Well, Chemosh starts out Red in Tooth and Claw being locked in a dungeon simply because he’s a captive. The setting predates asylums, but if we were dealing with a hypothetical more modern society, Chemosh would be there because he sees spirits, and Agash has an uncontrollable rage.

Which fictional character (it can be one of yours) and/or author would you like to live with in an asylum and why?

I might end up being the sad redshirt, but I’m going to go with Chief Miles O’Brien. I feel like if anyone’s going to somehow invent a teleporter out of rocks it’s him. Worst case, he’s a pretty low-key, genial person.

While you are locked in here for eternity, we will allow you one book – what would you choose?

I’ll take my complete Shakespeare. It’ll take a good long while to read through that, and it’s got everything from farce to tragedy.  

Well then, we hope you’ll enjoy your stay in the Asylum! Any last words? *locks door*

Time enough at last!

Giveaway
Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you are interested in Red in Tooth and Claw and would like to get in contact with Ryan Howse, you can find him on social media:

Find out more about Storytellers On Tour or join our team:

Grab a copy of Red in Tooth and Claw on Amazon!

Red in Tooth and Claw by Ryan Howse

%d bloggers like this: